Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

Anyone have any experience growing Bluegill?  In particular the hybrids or all-male batches?

Views: 965

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I've never really heard about growing out all male bluegill.  That is normally what people do with Tilapia.

I have a mixed bag of regular old bluegill in a tank in my back yard and some of them are over 12-14 ounces in less than a year of having them while others are still quite small.  (6 ounces is big enough to eat a bluegill.)

I'm new to bluegill, Charles, but I just got 2250 in my outdoor tank a couple of weeks ago.  I got them from a local hatchery, and I can tell you they are very weak transporters.  They make the trip okay, but are very susceptible to fin-rot and infections from stress.  I lost all of 600 that I got shipped from Mississippi previous to this order, and 2-300 of this current order went belly up 3-4 days after stocking. My advice? Absolutely with no exceptions add them to a salted quarantine tank at .5%, and keep them there for 3-4 weeks before adding them to your system (that is if your system already has other fish in it). Use course rock salt available here at OSH for $5 per 50 lbs, very cheap insurance. It's a surprising amount of salt, 40 lbs for my 1000 gallon Q tank. Salt weighs about as much as water, so volumetric measurements are ok (pint=pound, quart=2 lbs, etc) Add the salt directly to the water all at once. This will slowly dissolve so as to not shock the fish. I have also heard to pre-dissolve the salt and then add it, but the technical research I found said otherwise. I wish somebody had told me, so I'm passing it on. By the way, you can dip them in a 3% solution for one minute, according to a paper I read. Some plants will do ok in .5% salt, but I'm just doing partial water changes to eliminate ammonia for the salt period.