Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

I'm relatively new to aquaponics and would appreciate any suggestions or feedback on the feasibility of growing trout indoors in a relatively small 150 gallon stock tank. I was thinking I could stock 15 or 20  6-8" rainbow trout from a local hatchery.

I am currently running a setup with the goldfish from our small backyard pond, but I'd like to grow some fish we can eat. The temperature in the basement should keep the water cool enough for trout. I figured I could keep the water moving with a pump and provide plenty of aeration, and cycle it fishless. Is there any reason this wouldn't work?

Tom

Views: 13948

Replies to This Discussion

I've managed to keep most of the trout alive for three weeks, but their feeding has slowed down some and one went belly up in tank 1 yesterday with another in tank 2 swimming kind of sluggishly on his side. The ammonia and nitrites are still between 0 and 0.25 ppm in both tanks, the temperature is about 66 degrees, and the air pumps and water pumps are all working. pH in tank 1 appears to be stable at about 7.8 and while the other has gradually come down to about 7.0 since I started cycling. I'm not that worried that I lost a couple but I am a little concerned that the rest don't seem to be feeding as aggressively. Could it be that I am simply feeding too much for the temp and O2 levels?

An update on my 150 gallon tank Trout Project. I added a tank, cycled it fishless, and I've had the trout in the two tanks for 13 weeks now.