Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

Hi,

I've had tomato plants in the grow bed for almost 3 months now.  The plants are very tall and look good but they are not flowering or producing any fruit.  Any ideas from anyone would be greatly welcomed.

Views: 1190

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I didn't see much information about your system on your profile.  Is your system indoors?  If so, I'd suspect lighting but I have no experience in that area.

It is in a greenhouse and a simple flood & drain system , 250 gallon tote tank 62 talapia 5-6 months old ,only  1 grow bed that is 2'x12'

George said:

I didn't see much information about your system on your profile.  Is your system indoors?  If so, I'd suspect lighting but I have no experience in that area.

What are your nitrites and nitrates at, Tomatoes don't like to bloom if there is too much nitrogen and it sounds like your generating a lot of waste for a smallish grow bed.

Yea everything is reading Hi except the Ph is at the lowest setting.

So perhaps i give them some more light.; grow lights. Also i have been taken several (2-3) 5 gallon buckets of water out of the tank daily  & adding fresh  tap :well water that is higher in Ph.  But that does not seam to make any difference so i best figure out how to add more grow bed space  i.e. 4" PVC pipe as no room for another grow bed.

Jonathan Kadish said:

What are your nitrites and nitrates at, Tomatoes don't like to bloom if there is too much nitrogen and it sounds like your generating a lot of waste for a smallish grow bed.

What is the outside (air) temp? I've heard that tomatos can have blooms wilt from the heat before getting fertilized and thus never produce any fruit. Last year in Memphis we didn't really have any spring, and the tomatos did poorly all year.