Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

i'm new with questions i recently met  a guy that has indoor aquaponics artificial lighting , tolopia, fed comercial food. he gave me tomatoes ,he can,t get them to produce even medium size fruit. The taste was flat no flavor.If thats what can be expected for flavor I'll give up on tomatoes.Any advice? thanks.

Views: 1195

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

If you are going to be doing aquaponics outdoors, I would say don't give up on tomatoes.  You might need to try a few varieties till you find what works well for you and you like.  And remember that the first season of an AP system won't be a glowing example of what it can do with demanding fruiting plants like tomatoes.  That said, many people still do manage to grow toms the first season.  I grew a huge jungle of grape and cherry tomatoes (I don't really like fresh tomatoes but the other half said they were great.)

Maxicrop plus iron will help tomatoes in a new system. It's formulated to support acid-loving plants (tomatoes) and provides iron which is often deficient in both new and mature systems. It will give a mature system a nice boost as well.

Also, tomatoes love direct sun and lots of it.

Tomatoes grow very well in AP systems...maybe too well as they sure hog a lot GB space. I'm growing more in self-watering containers to free up GB space.

I agree with the above. Don't give up. It takes time to build a healthy garden, no matter what technique one uses. Flood and drain grow beds are wonderful to grow tomatoes in (once the system is mature). I have chosen to grow my tomatoes in my raised, wicking bed system, (now fed by Ap water).

Dont give up I started my system last march and now I have a heatwave II tomato that is eating up my greenhouse space!!!!! with lots of tomatoes showing up on it!!! This is a DWT system to boot havent gotten to putting in the media beds yes but do have the gravel for it now.