Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

If you're interested in heating a space for not much money, ie bit's of dead wood etc., check out, Rocket stoves or rocket heaters or rocket mass heaters on youtube. I reckon it's a good solution for greenhouses in cooler climates... Make sure you watch them and understand how they work. It's genius!

Chris

Views: 5024

Replies to This Discussion

Hi,

If you like the Rocket stove, check out the TLUD stove.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ihN7HLGGhE&feature=related

Awesome!!!

I checked out these TLUD stoves and I'm going to make a couple in different sizes.

I've been using rocket stoves for a couple of years but I think there are much better

Mahalo

TLUD's look like a great way to kill 2 birds with one stone:  produce a meal and biochar for the garden at the same time, but no good for serious heating needs.  I plan on incorporating a below grade rocket mass heater in my greenhouse, but I have one issue that is yet to be worked out:  how do I protect below grade cob from ground moisture?  Any thoughts?

I have found with my rocket stove that wood with some water content is a bear to burn.    However, since I have added a blower to it, the wood burns far better since it is getting more oxygen, and burns hotter.

Perhaps a blower added to your setup with a variable control ( say a router speed control ) might do what you are after.

There's a really great book, Rocket Mass Heaters by Ianto Evans that you can buy in paperback form or as a pdf online.  There are also a bunch of websites that discuss various versions/experiences with rocket mass heaters.  It's a very flexible design, but cob, (a mud, clay, straw mixture), the usual source of the mass in a rocket mass heater, has some definite limitations.