Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

Hello...I'm new to aquaponics. I have a pretty good grasp on the basics...i have a small tank that is nearly cycled and i have a few flowers transplanted and a cucumber sprout looking very hardy and proud. I have lost several herbs and lettuce seeds. I planted them two inches deep to get them watered every cycle. I even sprouted them before planting them, but after more than ten days they have not surfaced.

What is the right way to start salad crops?

Views: 758

Replies to This Discussion

I have good luck starting them in seeding trays then transplating once the shoot starts to show first leaves. I have also started seed directly in hydroton but used coconut coir to keep seed from falling through the hydroton into the tank.

Yea the water depth can be tricky sometimes for direct sowing of seeds depending on the media and flood height.

I've often had good luck simply sprinkling seeds like lettuce and broccoli, turnips, kale, collards, and others in that family that are really quick to germinate with just a tiny bit of moisture.

However if you are having trouble with small seeds washing away with the flood and drain or not getting the moisture needed while planted shallow enough to surface, you might try making a little wick with tissue or paper towel put edge of paper down to a depth where it definitely gets wet and bury it up to where you want to place the seeds.  Lettuce and brassica seeds germinate just fine right up on the surface provided they stay moist enough.

When I had a timed system, we sprinkled the seeds and had great success. We now have a F&D system with more water activity, so germination is less successful, but still works. I just sprinkle more seeds. That said, I've had success transplanting larger plants like cucumbers, but find the time to pre-sprout lettuce and other quick-sprouting greens isn't worth it.