Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

I'm brand new to AP but have been reading and, hopefully, studying for about a year or so. During that time, I knew I wanted to have tilapia as my fish, but am fairly sure I won't be able to sustain temps that they need during Spring, Fall and Winter (it is Washington, after all).

My AP system is in a hoop house with 6mil cover, 330gal IBC FT with 1 gravel bed and 1 dwc bed so far. 

I began thinking trout, but am pretty sure they'll go insane in the heat we're having.

So, I hope y'all would help me out by letting me know what fish you're using in your Western Washington AP systems... especially if you aren't heating or cooling your water.

Thanks so much!

Views: 526

Replies to This Discussion

Grow tilapia in the summer and blue gil the rest of the time, another fish that can take the cold.

Thank you, Linda. That's a great idea.

Yellow Perch is another good species that is available everywhere.

What about housing the trout outside, they do not have to be in the heat.

Trout are really picky about water temp., and oxygenation. They require a lot of cold moving water. 

Blue gill, Pumpkin seed sunfish,  perch or catfish will do fine.  Maybe bass...

They could all be outside, they all have an acclimation range I agree, I suppose I must be too picky about my water quality.

I do want fish for harvesting, so I'm not a big fan of going with smaller fish (blue gill, crappie, etc...). Catfish I've thought about just a little bit but didn't know what their temperature range is.  Could they take the colder temps during the winters here and the warm temps during the summer?