Aquaponic Gardening

A Community and Forum For Aquaponic Gardeners

All Discussions Tagged 'Water' (13)

Discussions Replies Latest Activity

How to measure Magnesium?

Hi All, I am a novice in the field of aquaponics. The owners of a local aquaponics were kind enough to allow me to volunteer and learn the…

Started by Josh McNeely

1 Jul 9, 2021
Reply by Rob Tolette

How I built a gas water heater for the pond.

I have implemented a heating system for my 500 gallon partially inground tank that may be useful to some of you.  I've learned a lot readin…

Started by James H Clanton

27 Jan 10, 2017
Reply by Mark B

Vinegar barrel for pH adjustment?

I acquired a vinegar barrel and have been flushing it with rainwater from my gutters for a few days I just tested the pH in the barrel now…

Started by Jeff S

3 Dec 2, 2015
Reply by Alex Veidel

Water Issues for New System: Mystery of the sinking pH!

Hello All, Every expert started as a beginner, so here I go.... I am helping to start a new AP system at a high school in southwestern Oh…

Started by True

10 Oct 22, 2014
Reply by Alex Veidel

Tilapia froze to death last night.

So it is with great sadness that I lost my entire stock of Tilapia due to a power outage last night. I have a converted IBC with about fift…

Started by Ray Eklund

0 Jan 31, 2014

Can anyone help to lower the water pump wattage ?

Hi  I am newbie in aquaponic. I just started 3 months ago. I love to see the plants are growing good. But what I didn't expect is the elec…

Started by Squall Leonheart

14 Sep 7, 2012
Reply by Kenji Snow

Testing for Iron, Magnesium and Calcium

Hello all. I don't know if I am over anylizing my water but I am in the middle of a fishless cycle (about 1 week into it) and my plants are…

Started by Brandon nardoianni

1 Jul 18, 2012
Reply by Keith Rowan

System startup

Hi All, I'm trying to get my system through startup and I'm at a loss as to what is happening with the water chemisty.The overall water vo…